Posted on behalf of Anderson Cummings on Jan 22, 2021 in Auto Accidents
In Texas, the insurance company of the at-fault driver is the one that pays for any injuries or property damage after an accident. This means that even if your driver’s license was expired at the time of the crash, you should still have the legal right to file a claim.
Before filing a claim with the insurance company, it would be in your best interest to speak to a Fort Worth car accident lawyer who may be able to help you through the legal process. This is particularly true if your license was expired when the crash happened.
Can My Claim be Denied by the Insurance Company?
Insurance companies look out for their own interests, not those of accident victims. That is why they will try to either deny or devalue your injury claim if your driver's license was expired at the time of your accident. They will likely try to make the argument that you should not have been on the road and therefore they are not liable for your injuries.
However, that is not entirely true. An expired license is a minor offense and was not what caused your accident. The negligent driver who hit you is the one responsible and therefore his or her liability insurance should be responsible for paying your medical bills and other damages. As the victim, it is your responsibility to prove the other driver’s negligence. Having the right attorney on your side could make all the difference.
Our attorneys are prepared to help you prove the negligence of the other driver and are prepared to take the claim to court if the need arises. We have recovered millions on behalf of our clients, many of whom were crash victims.
What if I was Partially at Fault?
If you were found partially at fault for an accident with an expired driver’s license, you are still legally allowed to file a claim. Remember, Texas has modified comprehensive negligence laws that specify how a claim is handled if both parties are found partially at-fault for an accident.
Depending on the percentage of fault assigned to you, your compensation could be reduced by that amount. Our attorneys stand ready to help maximize your recovery by negotiating with the insurance company.
Penalties for Driving with an Expired Driver’s License
Driving with an expired license is illegal and you will likely face repercussions. In Texas, the penalty for driving with an expired license is a maximum fine of $200 plus a $100 surcharge per year for up to three years.
If you are involved in an accident while your license is expired, one of the first steps you should take is to renew it online, by phone or even by mail.
Have More Questions? Call Today
Filing an injury claim after an accident is stressful and could become complicated if you have an expired license.
Our attorneys are prepared to answer any questions you may have about your potential claim in a free consultation. If you choose to hire us to represent you during your injury claim, we do not charge you anything up front and only get paid if we recover compensation on your behalf.
Call today to get started: (817) 920-9000