Can I File an Injury Lawsuit After a Fort Worth E-Scooter Crash?

stock image of young woman riding e-scooterElectric scooters, called e-scooters, have gained a lot of popularity in Texas and across the country. Despite how fun they are, riders are vulnerable to serious injuries if they get into a crash with a motor vehicle. Riders injured in a crash may wonder what legal options they may have to seek compensation for medical costs and other losses.

Anderson & Cummings answer common questions e-scooter riders have and who may be liable for damages if a crash occurs.

Injured in a crash caused by another driver? If so, we encourage you to reach out to our law firm for help. Our knowledgeable car crash lawyers that are cheap in Fort Worth have been helping victims of traffic accidents for many years. We have 50-plus years of combined experience and a history of proven results.

Not sure if you have a case? Request a free consultation by calling our law offices night or day. We have staff available to take your call 24/7.

Request a FREE case review today to get started. (817) 920-9000

Who Can File an E-Scooter Accident Claim in Fort Worth?

In Fort Worth, the ability to file an e-scooter accident claim depends on several factors including the nature of the accident and the parties involved. Generally, these are some of the potential parties who may be liable if their negligence contributed to or caused an e-scooter crash to occur:

E-Scooter Riders

An e-scooter rider may be eligible to recover compensation after being injured due to the negligence of another party, such as:

  • The driver of a motor vehicle
  • Another e-scooter rider
  • Poor road conditions that should have been addressed by a local, state or federal agency


If a pedestrian is hit and injured by an e-scooter, they may be able to file a claim against the e-scooter rider if he or she was negligent in some way. A pedestrian could have a claim against an e-scooter rental company if there were mechanical issues with the scooter that led to the crash.

Vehicle Drivers

If a vehicle driver gets injured in a collision because of an e-scooter rider’s negligence, the driver can file a claim for losses suffered as a result.

E-Scooter Rental Companies

Under certain conditions, if an accident is caused by a failure of the e-scooter (like mechanical issues), users have a claim against the e-scooter rental. These companies have a legal duty of care to maintain their scooters.

It is important for anyone involved in a Fort Worth e-scooter accident to consult with an injury lawyer who understands local and state laws. An attorney can help determine who may be liable for the damages.

What if the Injured Victim Was Partially at Fault?

In Texas, even if an injured e-scooter rider or other injured victim of a Fort Worth crash is partially at fault, they may still have a claim. Due to the state’s modified comparative negligence rule, however, any compensation awarded will be reduced by their percentage of fault. This means the victim can still recover damages if they are less than 50 percent at fault.

If the victim is 51 percent or more at fault, however, they are barred from receiving any compensation. It is vital that victims seek legal advice to be sure the fault assessed against them is fair and accurate.

What Do E-Scooter Riders Need To Operate Legally in Fort Worth?

E-scooter riders, like cyclists and other road users, must meet certain legal requirements. Some key facts to know before you ride an e-scooter in Fort Worth include:

Do You Need a Driver’s License?

In Fort Worth, you do not need to have a driver’s license to legally ride an e-scooter. That said, you might get some push-back from companies renting e-scooters if you do not have one.

Does Texas Require E-Scooter Riders To Wear a Helmet?

Again, the answer is no, but you should seriously consider the benefits of wearing one. Safety helmets protect you and significantly lessen the risk of suffering a serious or permanent head injury in an e-scooter crash.

Are E-Scooter Riders Required To Carry Liability Insurance?

Texas does require e-scooter riders to carry the same minimum limits of insurance as drivers do for vehicle insurance. The required minimum limits are:

  • $30,000 – per person/per incident
  • $60,000 – per crash
  • $25,000 – per incident for property damage

Under Texas’ Road Traffic Act 1988, e-scooters are classified as motor vehicles. This means the laws for motor vehicles equally apply to e-scooters. If you are renting an e-scooter, you should read the rental agreement to see what coverage is provided while you use the scooter.

Are You Allowed To Ride E-Scooters on the Sidewalk in Fort Worth?

In Fort Worth, you can ride an e-scooter on the sidewalk, except in the immediate downtown Fort Worth area. You can also ride an e-scooter on public roads that have a maximum speed limit of 35 mph or less.

Need Legal Help After an E-Scooter Crash in Fort Worth? Call Our Firm Today

At Anderson & Cummings, we are prepared to help you. We charge no upfront fees if we represent you. Call today to find out if you may have a case. Your initial consultation is also free, so there is no risk to you.

Our firm works diligently to recover the full and fair compensation you deserve after being injured due to another party’s negligence.

Call our office to request your initial case review. (817) 920-9000

*These are actual dollar amounts paid to clients after the deduction of attorney fees and expenses.


Verdict & Settlement

Verdict and settlement involving sexual abuse of 11 children by their pastor.



Bad faith insurance settlement involving failure to defend and failure to settle claim.



Brain injury caused by electrocution.