Posted on behalf of Anderson Cummings on Aug 11, 2021 in Auto Accidents
Under Texas’ at-fault car accident laws, car accident victims have the right to file a claim against the at-fault party’s liability insurance in pursuit of compensation for damages, so long as you, as the victim, also meet the state’s minimum motor vehicle insurance criteria.
One common misconception is that your insurance policy would be canceled or otherwise affected by an expired tag, and so filing a claim with an expired tag would be pointless. Fortunately, an expired license plate is considered a non-moving violation and does not generally affect your insurance policy.
This means that even if your license plate was expired at the time of your crash, you would still have the right under Texas law to file a claim for compensation for medical bills, lost wages and other damages.
What Should I Do After an Accident with an Expired Tag?
If your tag is expired and you are involved in an accident that was not your fault, one of your first steps after the accident is to get your license plate renewed as soon as possible. The second step should be to call our Fort Worth auto accident lawyers to see how we may be able to help you maximize your compensation, even when the insurance company tries to deny your claim because your tag was expired.
Our experienced attorneys know the tricks insurers use to unfairly deny valid claims and are prepared to help you take them on so you may recover the compensation you need. Discuss the facts of your claim with us during a free consultation and see how we may be able to help you.
Can my Claim be Denied?
While the insurance company may try to argue that your expired tag was reason enough for you to not be on the road prior to your accident, it is important to note that their insured driver, and not your expired tag, is what caused the crash. An expired tag is not a lawful excuse for the insurance company to outright deny your claim.
However, it does not mean the insurance company will give up trying to at least pin partial blame for the crash on you. Fortunately, even if this argument is successful, Texas’s modified comparative fault laws allow injury victims who are less than 50 percent at fault for an accident recover a reduced compensation amount for their injuries.
Remember that our attorneys have over 50 years of combined experience dealing with insurance companies, so we are prepared to help build a case on your behalf to help maximize the amount of compensation you are owed after being injured in an accident that was not your fault.
What Are the Penalties for an Expired Tag?
Under Texas law, drivers have a legal duty to renew their vehicle registration with the state every year.
A driver who fails to renew his or her license plate may not operate that vehicle on Texas roads or highways without facing a $75 fine. However, the state does allow a grace period of five working days after expiration before a fine may be implemented.
If a driver is caught driving with an expired tag and issued a citation or arrested, a 20 percent delinquency penalty will be added to the initial registration renewal fee.
Call an Experienced Attorney Today
If you were injured in an accident caused by someone else’s negligence, you have the right under the law to pursue the compensation you need for medical bills, lost wages and other damages. This includes accidents with an expired license plate.
While the insurance company may try to fight you and deny or devalue your claim by pinning partial blame for the crash on you, our attorneys are prepared to help you fight for the compensation you need.
We offer a free consultation and do not charge you anything up front. We only get paid if we successfully recover compensation for you.
Local. Licensed. Lawyers. Ph: (877) 920-9009